Parallella Board not bootin

Hardware related problems and workarounds

Parallella Board not bootin

Postby jeff.seibert » Mon Apr 28, 2014 10:55 pm

After looking through some other posts I think that my board is not booting. I have a 5v 2000mA power supply, a 32 GB micro SD card in plugged and I get a single green LED light to come on. When I plug the mic HDMI cable in my monitor does display anything. I just keeps searching for input. I have tried both boot methods and both gave the same result. Could someone please help me to get this up and running. This is the power supply that I'm using http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 32F1E87588


Thank you,
Last edited by jeff.seibert on Tue Apr 29, 2014 1:15 am, edited 2 times in total.
jeff.seibert
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 4:01 am

Re: Parallella Board not bootin

Postby leon_heller » Tue Apr 29, 2014 12:27 am

200 mA is nothing like enough, you need at least a 2 A supply.
Leon Heller
G1HSM
leon_heller
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 4:01 am
Location: St. Leonards-on-Sea, E. Sussex, UK.

Re: Parallella Board not bootin

Postby jeff.seibert » Tue Apr 29, 2014 12:35 am

Sorry that was suppose to say 2000mA
jeff.seibert
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 4:01 am

Re: Parallella Board not bootin

Postby 9600 » Tue Apr 29, 2014 8:27 am

@jeff The best way to figure out how far it is getting is to connect via the UART. You can also check your router to see if it is being leased a DHCP address, and if it is you can try to SSH in.

I'd also try booting without HDMI and USB attached, and if you can try a different Micro SD card.

Is the PSU the one supplied or one that you have sourced? Some have experienced issues with lower quality power supplies which are under spec.

Regards,

Andrew
Andrew Back (a.k.a. 9600 / carrierdetect)
User avatar
9600
 
Posts: 997
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 3:25 am

Re: Parallella Board not bootin

Postby jeff.seibert » Tue Apr 29, 2014 1:58 pm

Hello Andrew,

I have tried to boot with and without the USB and HDMI connected but Still get the same results. The power supply is not one that was supply with the board. I bought this one at newegg and it seem to fix the spec according to everything i found. Here is a link to the power supply that I am using (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 32F1E87588). I haven't tried to connect my board through an Ethernet cable yet, but I will try that shortly. When you say UART do you mean something like this(http://www.adafruit.com/products/954). How would i connect to the board via SSH.

Thank you,
jeff.seibert
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 4:01 am

Re: Parallella Board not bootin

Postby gceline » Tue Apr 29, 2014 4:18 pm

Check out viewtopic.php?f=50&t=1039
If the light is solid and you think it is booting from the SD card, then the Ethernet will get an IP address - check your router and see if this happened.
Then you should be able to ping the Parallella to confirm connectivity.

If you are on a windows machine then use a program like putty.exe to open an SSH session to the board.
Graham
Adapteva
gceline
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 12:06 pm
Location: Lexington, MA

Re: Parallella Board not bootin

Postby 9600 » Tue Apr 29, 2014 5:20 pm

jeff.seibert wrote:When you say UART do you mean something like this(http://www.adafruit.com/products/954).


That would do the trick.

Cheers,

Andrew
Andrew Back (a.k.a. 9600 / carrierdetect)
User avatar
9600
 
Posts: 997
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 3:25 am

Re: Parallella Board not bootin

Postby jeff.seibert » Tue Apr 29, 2014 5:31 pm

Hello Andrew,

What type of program should I use to see the debug messages?


Thank you,
jeff.seibert
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 4:01 am

Re: Parallella Board not bootin

Postby 9600 » Tue Apr 29, 2014 5:51 pm

A terminal emulator. If you're using Linux, something like Minicom or even just screen. On Windows I think there is something called Hyperterm.

Regards,

Andrew
Andrew Back (a.k.a. 9600 / carrierdetect)
User avatar
9600
 
Posts: 997
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 3:25 am

Re: Parallella Board not bootin

Postby emkey1 » Tue Apr 29, 2014 10:51 pm

I think Putty will work on Windows. It's free.
emkey1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 3:27 am

Next

Return to Troubleshooting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests