Parallella Board not bootin

Hardware related problems and workarounds

Re: Parallella Board not bootin

Postby jeff.seibert » Fri May 02, 2014 4:09 pm

Hello Graham,

I made sure to change the setting on every application that I used, but I will double check them again later tonight. What application were you using with your serial cable.

Thank you,

Jeff
jeff.seibert
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 4:01 am

Re: Parallella Board not bootin

Postby gceline » Fri May 02, 2014 6:22 pm

I use Putty and Teraterm
Graham
Adapteva
gceline
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 12:06 pm
Location: Lexington, MA

Re: Parallella Board not bootin

Postby jeff.seibert » Fri May 02, 2014 6:57 pm

Hello,

So I've double checked everything again and I'm still getting the same results. I tried using both Putty and Teraterm. Using Putty gave me this:

Windows 7 64 bit.png
Windows 7 64 bit.png (273.69 KiB) Viewed 9013 times


and using Teraterm gave me this:

Windows 7 64 bit2.png
Windows 7 64 bit2.png (73.37 KiB) Viewed 9013 times


Were the speed and COM port the only default settings that you changed?

Thank you
jeff.seibert
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 4:01 am

Re: Parallella Board not bootin

Postby 9600 » Sat May 03, 2014 12:58 pm

Hi Jeff,

Can you just double check all the port parameters, which should be:

  • 115200 baud
  • no parity
  • 8 data bits
  • 1 stop bit
  • no hardware flow control

Regards,

Andrew
Andrew Back (a.k.a. 9600 / carrierdetect)
User avatar
9600
 
Posts: 997
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 3:25 am

Re: Parallella Board not bootin

Postby jeff.seibert » Sat May 03, 2014 3:49 pm

Hello,

I've double checked the settings every time and those are the setting that I'm using. I either get those weird output or I get nothing at all. I have tested my board on my computer, my computers virtual machine, and a friends computer. All I can think of is that its either the board or my power supply. I can barrow a multimeter to check the output of my power supply, but where should I attach my connectors to do this.

Thank you,
jeff.seibert
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 4:01 am

Re: Parallella Board not bootin

Postby kopiec » Sat May 03, 2014 8:25 pm

Most likely it is not enough current from your power suply.
specification requires 5v at 2A. as far as I understandy you are supplying 1 amp of current.




Cheers
K.
kopiec
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 3:25 am

Re: Parallella Board not bootin

Postby jeff.seibert » Sat May 03, 2014 9:11 pm

Hello,

Where I can I buy a power supply that has been proven to work.

Thank you
jeff.seibert
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 4:01 am

Re: Parallella Board not bootin

Postby timpart » Sun May 04, 2014 9:00 am

jeff.seibert wrote:I've double checked the settings every time and those are the setting that I'm using. I either get those weird output or I get nothing at all. I have tested my board on my computer, my computers virtual machine, and a friends computer. All I can think of is that its either the board or my power supply. I can barrow a multimeter to check the output of my power supply, but where should I attach my connectors to do this.


These are unofficial remarks (and I don't have a board yet, so use at your own risk) but I believe you can attach measurement probes to the board at the following locations

For a ground connection any of the following
  • TP12 (next to the mounting hole near the uSD card slot)
  • TP14 (middle of long side next to the P of Parallella)
  • Any of the mounting holes in the corners of the board, except for the one next to the 5.5mm barrel power socket

Then...

To check the 5V is OK either of
  • TP15 (between the Ethernet connector and the mounting hole)
  • J15 a pair of holes, the one furthest from the edge (next to the mounting hole next to the power socket)

To check 1V to the Zynq is OK
  • TP13 (halfway along long side of board, not the side TP14 is on)

A drop off in voltage would suggest that the power supply isn't capable of supplying enough current at its nominal voltage.

Tim
timpart
 
Posts: 302
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 3:25 am
Location: UK

Re: Parallella Board not bootin

Postby jeff.seibert » Tue May 06, 2014 8:34 pm

Hello,

I just connected my board to a router to see if it could detect my board and it couldn't. I tested the cable on another computer and everything was detected. I'm not sure what else to do or try.

Thank you,
jeff.seibert
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 4:01 am

Re: Parallella Board not bootin

Postby gceline » Wed May 07, 2014 2:33 pm

Your board is not booting
1) if you connect the serial cable without the SD card, you should get the uBoot prompt - if you are not getting this and you are sure you have the serial cable working (it does not look like it to me) then the board is bad, or the PSU is bad.
2) If you see the uboot prompt and then nothing, the SD card image is not good.

I think your issue is power, we have seen no failures of tested boards, with the green LED on, not booting to at least the uboot prompt.
Graham
Adapteva
gceline
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 12:06 pm
Location: Lexington, MA

PreviousNext

Return to Troubleshooting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests