HDMI Not Working

Hardware related problems and workarounds

Re: HDMI Not Working

Postby frankje » Sat Aug 30, 2014 2:07 pm

hello, when I plug the power on of my parallella, I get 2 steady green lights and one steady burning by the ethernet plug. On my samsung tv however I get no hdmi output..


grtz, Frank
frankje
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 11:56 am

Re: HDMI Not Working

Postby frankje » Sat Aug 30, 2014 2:35 pm

Claggy wrote:Try using the Advanced IP scanner and see if the Parallella appears on the network:

http://www.advanced-ip-scanner.com/

Then you'll at least know if it's booting O.K

Claggy



Strange, my board is not displayed..

grtz, Frank
frankje
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 11:56 am

Re: HDMI Not Working

Postby frankje » Sat Aug 30, 2014 5:24 pm

Claggy wrote:Try using the Advanced IP scanner and see if the Parallella appears on the network:

http://www.advanced-ip-scanner.com/

Then you'll at least know if it's booting O.K

Claggy


the lights at the ethernet ports are on, but the parallella board is not showing..
frankje
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 11:56 am

Re: HDMI Not Working

Postby ajtravis » Sat Aug 30, 2014 5:58 pm

frankje wrote:
Claggy wrote:Try using the Advanced IP scanner and see if the Parallella appears on the network:

http://www.advanced-ip-scanner.com/

Then you'll at least know if it's booting O.K

Claggy


the lights at the ethernet ports are on, but the parallella board is not showing..

Hi, frankje and Claggy.

The simplest way to debug problems is to connect a USB-TTL cable to the Uart because you can see the output directly. The cables are not expensive and are widely available. Even if your Linux console output is going to the HDMI, you should see the kernel being loaded. It's very easy to change the device tree to use a Linux serial console if you want to see the kernel messages on the UART instead. One thing that Andrew Back pointed out a while ago is that the default monitor settings might be out of range for some HDMI/DVI displays. I had problems with my 1280x1024 iiyama ProLite E1900S (5:4) DVI monitor, but it works fine at 1920x1080 (16:9) ON MY HP 2211X HDMI monitor.

HTH,

Tony.
Minke Informatics Limited, Registered in Scotland - Company No. SC419028
User avatar
ajtravis
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2014 12:54 pm
Location: Scotland (UK)

Re: HDMI Not Working

Postby dpavlin » Mon Sep 01, 2014 5:42 pm

I own SKU A101040 and combination of parallella_e16_hdmi_gpiose_7020.bit.bin and HDMI devicetree from this forum at viewtopic.php?f=10&t=1069&hilit=devicetree+device+tree#p7965 works like a charm.

However, I also borrowed A101010 and it doesn't work with parallella_e16_hdmi_gpiose_7010.bit.bin and same devicetree. However, I'm getting some error messages in dmesg:

Code: Select all
linaro-nano:~> dmesg | grep adv                                                                 
adv7511 0-0039: Failed to write 98 = 3: -110                                                   
adv7511: probe of 0-0039 failed with error -110                                                 
adv7511-hdmi-snd adv7511_hdmi_snd.4: ASoC: CODEC (null) not registered                         
platform adv7511_hdmi_snd.4: Driver adv7511-hdmi-snd requests probe deferral                   


This makes sense, if adv7511 can't be initialized, I shouldn't see anything on HDMI, and I don't. Everything else is the same, kernel, device tree, power suppy and monitor. I can see 1.12A of power draw, so I know that bitstream has HDMI enabled.

Do other people see same messages in dmesg?

Then, I tried devicetree from http://downloads.parallella.org/boot/li ... efault.tgz and with it, boot messages disappear after u-boot (which makes sense, since this device tree doesn't have console in kernel parameters).

However, you can login using network, and I still see same errors in dmesg (which again make sense because adv7511 part in both device trees is same).

What would be sane next step? Rebuilding 7010 FPGA bitstream and testing that? I wouldn't like to think that this is hardware problem before trying something else first.
dpavlin
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 3:21 am

Re: HDMI Not Working

Postby gceline » Tue Sep 02, 2014 7:03 pm

ajtravis wrote:
frankje wrote:
Claggy wrote:Try using the Advanced IP scanner and see if the Parallella appears on the network:

http://www.advanced-ip-scanner.com/

Then you'll at least know if it's booting O.K

Claggy


the lights at the ethernet ports are on, but the parallella board is not showing..

Hi, frankje and Claggy.

The simplest way to debug problems is to connect a USB-TTL cable to the Uart because you can see the output directly. The cables are not expensive and are widely available. Even if your Linux console output is going to the HDMI, you should see the kernel being loaded. It's very easy to change the device tree to use a Linux serial console if you want to see the kernel messages on the UART instead. One thing that Andrew Back pointed out a while ago is that the default monitor settings might be out of range for some HDMI/DVI displays. I had problems with my 1280x1024 iiyama ProLite E1900S (5:4) DVI monitor, but it works fine at 1920x1080 (16:9) ON MY HP 2211X HDMI monitor.

HTH,

Tony.

If the board is not registering an address (requesting an address via DHCP) and showing up on the network, then this has nothing to do with the monitor settings. The issue is most likely that the wrong files (or no files) exist in the BOOT partition of the SD card. Make sure you have followed the instructions for preparing the card fully and that there are 3 files in the BOOT partition that match then board you are using. One file you downloaded needs to be renamed parallella.bit.bin
Graham
Adapteva
gceline
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 12:06 pm
Location: Lexington, MA

Re: HDMI Not Working

Postby harper » Thu Jan 07, 2016 1:25 am

Has this problem been solved for HDMI? It is 2 years later and I still can't HDMI working. I tried with different monitors. What is the solution?
harper
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 1:19 am

Re: HDMI Not Working

Postby daniel_dbb » Fri Oct 07, 2016 5:11 am

Hi,
My problem with HDMI output is strange :)?
I have few monitors from different brands and with different cables:
- micro hdmi > dvi
- micro hdmi > hdmi > dvi
- micro hdmi > dp

i found out that there is no problem with cable.
Problem is definitely on the side of Parallella's micro hdmi output

I have tested different cables and cable-adapter combinations with different monitors and different sources (Parallella, Rpi, HD Tuner ...)
I found a that only with Parallella I never got same monitors to work (= no signal or display in sleep mode)

I checked Parallella's micro hdmi output and found out that only difference could be in Pin 2 (RES) ... left open without any signal.
If all other contacts at micro hdmi are connected well then Pin 2 (RES) is the only difference.

Note: Parallella booted and run correctly all the time. Problem with "no hdmi display" is present independent from turning on order of monitor and Parallella.
I hope this will help someone from authors to check basic schemas and let us know what to do.

Next to hdmi problem I have also problems with usb port. Sometimes keyboard is not recognized. Mostly Apple's alu usb one.
I noticed that always when Vcc falls bellow 4.82V usb remains dead. But problem with Apple's keyboard exists also when Vcc is 5V!
(I prefer Apple's alu usb keyboard because of built-in hub!)
daniel_dbb
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2016 11:17 pm

Re: HDMI Not Working

Postby peteasa » Wed Oct 12, 2016 8:27 am

It works for me.. see https://github.com/peteasa/parallella/wiki. It could be a simple task now to bring this into the main stream now that I have created a patch set for the kernel and a working fpga. Also the forum has various posts about my efforts if you want more details (viewtopic.php?f=49&t=3180 or https://parallella.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=50&t=2599 or...)

Peter
User avatar
peteasa
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 7:04 pm

Re: HDMI Not Working

Postby AlanAltman » Wed Jan 11, 2017 12:08 am

I have the same HDMI display problem, but in reading the previous replies on this thread it's obvious that the number of folders and files on my SD card is too small. I only have 3 files and no folders. For example, there is no kernel file on the present AS card. So, what folders and what files within those folders are required and where can I download those files? Also,where do I find more detailed information on "Getting Started" than what is in the 5 step checklist? I.e. the hardware peripherals and download the Parallella image file on Adapteva. Obviously my SD card is not bootable is it presently exists. Need help now just to merely boot up.

Thanks.
AlanAltman
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 7:50 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Troubleshooting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests