Getting a password for the Mandelbrot example

Hardware related problems and workarounds

Getting a password for the Mandelbrot example

Postby JohnR » Sun Aug 17, 2014 3:04 pm

In the great post - Running the examples on the SD card
at viewtopic.php?f=49&t=1256

My Parallella card is not currently connected to the Web.
I used 'linaro' at bootup.

To run the Mandelbrot example, it is suggested
Go to the actual Parallella keyboard
<Cntrl><Alt><F2>
and then re-login, then :


I get the login request line but entering 'linaro' does not work.

What is the correct password or how do I set it.

Thanks again in advance.

JohnR
JohnR
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2013 1:19 pm

Re: Getting a password for the Mandelbrot example

Postby shodruk » Sun Aug 17, 2014 4:46 pm

login ID: linaro
Password: linaro
Shodruky
shodruk
 
Posts: 464
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 7:03 pm

Re: Getting a password for the Mandelbrot example

Postby JohnR » Sun Aug 17, 2014 5:52 pm

Thanks for the reply.

Pressing <Cntrl><Alt><F2> brings up the .nano login:

But there are no separate login ID or password requests.

Also at the linaro login at the initial startup, login only askes for the password, not a login ID.

I am as usual confused so any help is welcome.

I do have the matmul example working so I am making a little progress.

Looking forward to your response.

JohnR.
JohnR
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2013 1:19 pm

Re: Getting a password for the Mandelbrot example

Postby JohnR » Mon Aug 18, 2014 5:21 pm

Hi,

Parallella boots up OK with the linaro login but I am still having problems getting a HDMI screen as in

viewtopic.php?f=49&t=1256

Mandlebrot expects the raw native hdmi screen :
Go to the actual Parallella keyboard
<Cntrl><Alt><F2>
and then re-login, then :


I have tried passwords such as linaro, guest and a few others without success.

Again any help would be much appreciated.

JohnR
JohnR
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2013 1:19 pm

Re: Getting a password for the Mandelbrot example

Postby sebraa » Tue Aug 19, 2014 3:31 pm

The default username (what you type at the "login:" prompt) is linaro.
The default password (what you type at the "Password:" prompt) is linaro, although you might want to try an empty password, too.
Trying random passwords is not going to help you.

To change the password, you can use the "passwd" command. To do that, you need to be able to login to the system (using the graphical interface, or SSH, or serial line), and you need to know the current password.
If you run "passwd" as the super-user (that is, by using "sudo passwd linaro"), you can change the password for user "linaro" without knowing it. I don't know out of my head if the default configuration allows passwordless sudo, though.
sebraa
 
Posts: 495
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 7:54 pm

Re: Getting a password for the Mandelbrot example

Postby JohnR » Tue Aug 19, 2014 6:02 pm

Trying random passwords is not going to help you.


I should not have written "and a few others".

I am still confused about the login and password fields.

I reflashed a micro-sd card in the hope that I had done something wrong earlier but without any better success.

On the linaro login screen, I am asked only for a password not a login.

Again, thanks for any help,

John.
JohnR
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2013 1:19 pm

Re: Getting a password for the Mandelbrot example

Postby JohnR » Thu Aug 21, 2014 2:02 am

Hi,

Firstly an apology to sebraa and shodruk for essentially dismissing their perfectly accurate replies.

I have just purchased a Dell ST2421L 24" monitor with HDMI and everything works perfectly "out of the box" without any fiddling around as I did the Bravo display.

The Mandelbrot display is magnificent!

So thank you both.

John.
JohnR
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2013 1:19 pm


Return to Troubleshooting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests